Suburban Glasgow
Suburban Glasgow

The Plan and the Phases

The railways in the suburban Glasgow area are very extensive.  Therefore, it will take years to complete the whole thing!


In order to keep myself sane, and not working to releasing something years down the line, I have decided to split the route into several distinct phases, each to be released separately (but all joined up obviously)


So as of May 2019, the plan is as follows:


Phase 1 *complete*:  This is the line from Partick to Milngavie and Dalmuir via both Yoker and Singer.  The biggest attraction of doing this part first was that once completed and merged with the WCMLNorth, it would allow Argyle Line trains to run their full course from Motherwell/Larkhall/Lanark/Coatbridge Central to Dalmuir/Milngavie.


Phase 2 *complete*: This extends the Phase 1 line east of Partick and merges with the Argyle Line from WCMLNorth.  Note, I have revamped some of this, completely replacing the line from Bridgeton to Glasgow Central and adding Anderston and Exhibition Centre.  It also includes the City Union Line north of the river (the southern end is part of WCMLNorth), the North Clyde Line between Partick and Bellgrove tunnel and Cathcart Circle via Queens Park.  I guess that makes it called the Cathcart Semi-circle.


Phase 3 *complete*:  This extends the line north of Bellgrove tunnel to Springburn, continuing west from there to Cowlairs Junction and then on through Maryhill to join with Phase 1 at Kelvindale and Westerton Junction.  It also includes the approach in to Queen St High Level.  On the south side, it completes the Cathcart Circle via Maxwell Park and Shields Road depot.


Phase 4 *complete*:  This extends the line west of Dalmuir to Dumbarton and Helensburgh Central/Upper.  On the south side it includes the line from Kings Park to Kirkhill (for Newton) and the square bounded by Cathcart, Pollokshaws West, Busby Junction, and the point where the Neilston and East Kilbride lines cross at Williamwood.


Note, that as of the start of Phase 5, the route has changed from an installer based route to a Workshop route.  You can still get the full detail by installing the rwp detail pack though!


Phase 5 *complete*:  This large phase completes the western portion of the North Clyde Line by adding the Balloch branch.  The Cathcart Circle is also completed by the addition of the Neilston line, and also the nearby Barrhead line.  The eastern part of the original North Clyde Line, as far as Airdrie, is the final piece of Phase 5.


*** as of the end of Phase 5.2, the plan for Phase 6 has changed somewhat and new Phases 7 and 8 have been announced ***


Phase 6 pre-phase *complete*:  The pre-phase release of Phase 6 is the merging in of Edinburgh to Glasgow, WHL South and WHL Extension, along with all the updating and blending required for them to blend in to Suburban Glasgow.


Phase 6, part 1 *not started*:  After that, the work will consist of the line from the M80 to Gartcosh and south to join with the northern part of WCMLNorth at Gartsherrie Junction.  This will allow trains from the south to travel right through from Mossend through to Springburn and onwards on to the West Highland Line.  This will be juggled with the line from Clarkston to East Kilbride.  The Alloa line will also be included with this, created by Callum Gordon.


Phase 6, part 2 *not started*:  This will consist of the line from Gartcosh/Garnqueen North Junction, through Cumbernauld to merge with Edinburgh to Glasgow at Greenhill, allowing through running from Queen St to Falkirk Grahamston via Cumbernauld.  Note, this is still not planned to be electrified.  This will also include some work in the area north of Stirling to Alloa and/or Dunblane.


Phase 7 *not started*:  This new phase will include the line from Airdrie to Bathgate.  It will be juggled in with Carfin to Shotts.  As the route will remain set in 2013, Shotts will not be electrified.  The remainder of the line to Paisley Canal is likely to be juggled in with this work.


Phase 8 *not started*:  This will run from Bathgate to Newbridge Junction, to join with the Edinburgh to Glasgow route and allow through running from Waverley right through to Helensburgh and Milngavie.  This will be juggled in with the remainder of the line from Shotts to Darren Porter's Midcalder Junction on the DPS extended Edinburgh to Glasgow.

PrintPrint | Sitemap
Suburban Glasgow